Synchronous and Asynchronous Learning

COPE has announced a change in event type naming effective January 1st, 2023 to Synchronous and Asynchronous. To continue to stay up to date with COPE standards and provide you with quality education, we have updated our website accordingly. For more information from COPE, click here

 

Tuesday February 7, 2023, 8pm - 10pm (ET)

Misdiagnosis and Malfeasance: Fact or Fiction?

Joseph Sowka, OD, FAAO, Diplomate

What time in your time zone?
5:00pm PT
6:00pm MT
7:00pm CT
8:00pm ET

Description: This course discusses common medical conditions which can be challenging to diagnose and treat and are disproportionately involved in cases of alleged negligence. These conditions include retinal detachment, giant cell arteritis, intracranial mass lesions, and infectious keratitis. errors and issues that can expose optometric practices to malpractice suits.  This course discusses diagnosis and management of these conditions. Following, there is discussion of coverage needed and how practitioners can interact with their insurance carriers to reduce the likelihood of a malpractice suit. Recommendations and strategies are provided to minimize risk and better insulate practices from malpractice. Real-life cases will be discussed to illustrate these concepts.

2 Hours Live Interactive Webinar Credit
(Synchronous Virtual Effective 1/1/2023):
COPE: 81919-GO

Tuesday February 21, 2023, 8pm - 10pm (ET)

2023 Coding Updates Together with Diagnostics and Therapeutic Procedures 

Harvey Richman, OD

What time in your time zone?
5:00pm PT
6:00pm MT
7:00pm CT
8:00pm ET

Description: The year 2023 brought a few changes to ICD-10 and CPT that are important to Optometry.  This course will cover those plus a few other federal updates pertinent to practitioners before transitioning over to a program looking at the common and sometimes not so common coding options for a therapeutic practice including some of common misunderstandings regarding billing guidelines.


2 Hours Synchronous Virtual Credit Available:
COPE: 82720-PM & FL: 20-985412

Sunday February 26, 2023, 7pm - 9pm (ET)

OCT Interpretation - Vitreous and Retinal - Enough Pearls to Make a Necklace

Greg A Caldwell, OD, FAAO

What time in your time zone?
4:00pm PT
5:00pm MT
6:00pm CT
7:00pm ET


2 Hours Synchronous Virtual Credit Available:
COPE: Pending

Tuesday March 7, 2023, 8pm - 10pm (ET)

Decision Making in Glaucoma - Diagnosis and Management

Pinakin Davey, OD

What time in your time zone?
5:00pm PT
6:00pm MT
7:00pm CT
8:00pm ET

This course ties up and provides an overall understanding on how to manage glaucoma. It is designed with a novice practitioner in mind. The participants will obtain understanding of how to diagnose primary treatment options and handle acute elevated intraocular pressure emergencies.


2 Hours Synchronous Virtual Credit Available:
COPE: 80171-GL

Sunday March 12, 2023, 7pm - 9pm (ET)

Ocular Biologics, Biosimilars, and Drugs for the Eye- What’s the Difference and What’s New

Greg A Caldwell, OD, FAAO

What time in your time zone?
4:00pm PT
5:00pm MT
6:00pm CT
7:00pm ET

Description: Every year new biologics and biosimilars are approved for ocular diseases. This course will review recently approved biologics, biosimilars, and drugs indicated for ocular treatment. This course will be given by an optometrist and pharmacist which you can interact by texting in your comment or question.


2 Hours Synchronous Virtual Credit Available:
COPE: Pending

Tuesday March 21, 2023, 8pm - 10pm (ET)

Rules and Exceptions to the Rules in Neuro Ophthalmics Disease

Joseph Sowka, OD, FAAO, Diplomate

What time in your time zone?
5:00pm PT
6:00pm MT
7:00pm CT
8:00pm ET


2 Hours Synchronous Virtual Credit Available:
COPE: Pending

Education Sponsored By:

Recorded Webinars

Weren’t able to join one of our live webinars? All of our webinars are recorded and published on our Youtube Channel within a few days. Click on the link below to view all recorded OEC webinars. CE credit is only available for live webinars.

 

Podcast Feature

Listen or watch Dr. Greg Caldwell on the Open Your Eyes Podcast with Dr. Kerry Gelb. This podcast about Understanding OCT can be listened to on YouTube at Part 1 & Part 2.

X